This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

Board of Directors

TESOL is governed by an elected board of directors. The TESOL executive director serves as an ex-officio member of the board. All TESOL members in good standing are eligible to vote in the board of director's election each year.

The board meets twice a year, in March and October, to review progress on the association's strategic plan, discuss the budget, and conduct other association business.

If you would like to serve on the TESOL Board of Directors, please visit the Serve as an Elected Leader webpage or contact the TESOL staff office.

 2019–20​20 Officers/Executive Committee

Deborah Healey
Deborah Healey

University of Oregon
Portland, Oregon USA
Term: 2018–2021

Deborah Short
Deborah Short
Academic Language Research & Training, LLC
​Arlington, ​Virginia USA
Term: 2019–2022

Luciana de Oliviera
Luciana C. de Oliveira
Past President
University of Miami
Miami, Florida USA 
Term: 2017–2020

Chris Powers
Christopher Powers
Executive Director / CEO
TESOL Staff Office
Alexandria, Virginia USA

2019–2020 Directors

Leslie Barrett
Leslie Barratt

Rajabhat Roi-Et University
Roi Et, Thailand
Term: 2017–2020

Christel Broady
Christel Broady
Georgetown College
Georgetown, Kentucky USA
Term: 2018–2021

Katherine Lobo
Brandeis University
Newton Public Schools
Newton, Massachusetts USA
Term: 2018–2021

Joe McVeigh
St. Michael's College
Colchester, Vermont USA
Term: 2018–2021

Grazzia Mendoza Chirinos

​USAID Honduras
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Term: 2019–2022

Justin Shewell
Arizona State University
​Mesa, Arizona USA
Term: 201​9–2022

Debra Suarez
​U.S. Federal Government
Washington, District of Columbia USA
Term: 201​9–2022

Lawrence Zhang
Lawrence Zhang

University of Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Term: 2017–2020