This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Presidents' Award

Every year the TESOL President, in collaboration with the President-Elect and the Past President, selects a recipient for the annual Presidents’ Award. The award honors individuals and organizations outside of TESOL who have demonstrated a commitment to English-language instruction, helped TESOL further its mission, and supported education in general. Past recipients of the TESOL Presidents' Award come from diverse backgrounds and include The British Council, UNICEF, and the Peace Corps.

2019 Presidents' Award Recipient: iCivics

Since its founding in 2009 by former United States Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, iCivics has provided over 200,000 teachers and 6 million students across the United States with free civics education lesson plans, resources, and interactive online games. One of iCivics’ most popular online games, “Do I Have a Right?” teaches students about constitutional law and individual rights. Following the game’s initial success, a Spanish version, “¿Tengo Algún Derecho?” was released to help English learners understand their civil liberties under the U.S. Constitution while improving their English language skills.

Commenting on the selection of iCivics to receive this prestigious award, TESOL President Luciana de Oliveira said, “iCivics’ commitment to empowering English learners through civics education is inspiring. The values of advocacy and empowerment that the organization embraces, and that TESOL International Association holds in such high regard, are admirable. TESOL is privileged to present iCivics with this honor in recognition of their collective hard work and dedication.” 

                                           TESOL 2019 Presidents' Award

Past Recipients

Year    Recipient
2019    iCivcs
2018    Jim Cummins
2017    The International Research Foundation for English Language Education (TIRF)
2016    International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language (IATEFL)
   Linda Darling Hammond
2014    British Council
2013    Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program
2012    BRAC Education Programme
2011    Association of Binational Centers in Latin America (ABLA)
2010    The Peace Corps
2009    Sen. Gilbert Cedillo & UCLA Improving Dreams, Equality, Access ​& Success (IDEAS)
2008    Laurie Olsen
2007    Li Ka-shing
2006    American Civil Liberties Union
2005 ​   Claudio Sanchez
2004 ​   Howard Gardner
2003 ​   Morris Dees
2002 ​   John H. Flavell
2001 ​   The Spencer Foundation
2000 ​   Milton Wong
1999 ​   UNICEF Education for Development Unit
1998    James Banks
1997    Charles Ferguson
1996    The Center for International Exchange of Scholars
1995    Le Ly Hayslip 
1994    George Soros
1993    Hillary Rodham Clinton
1992    Lt. Governor David C. Lam
1991    Paulo Freire
1988    Senator Paul Simon