This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

The TESOL Virginia French Allen Award for Scholarship and Service

Who's Eligible?

Any member of a TESOL affiliate. Individual membership status with TESOL International Association does not affect eligibility.


The Virginia French Allen Award was established in 1990 by Dr. Allen's former students in honor of her long-time contributions to the field. The award honors an ESOL teacher who has shared scholarship and provided service to a TESOL International Association affiliate.


A 3-year membership or membership extension in TESOL, including subscription to TESOL Quarterly.


Selection is based on evidence of contributions to the professional development of the nominee's affiliate colleagues as well as contributions to the running of the affiliate organization. Applications are evaluated based on documentation describing these contributions. Each TESOL affiliate may nominate one candidate each year.

How to Nominate a Colleague Online

To complete the online nomination process, you will need the following information. You are strongly encouraged to gather this information before you begin the application. That way, you can fill out the nomination completely, and you will not have to go back and fill in items later.

Candidate Information

Please provide the candidate's
  • full name
  • name of TESOL Affiliate
  • place of residence (city, state, country)
  • email address
  • phone number

Nomination Letter

Nomination letters should describe how the nominee has (a) shared ideas and professional insights with colleagues and (b) contributed to the work of the affiliate. Activities to be described could include conference presentations, in-service workshops, offices held, services to the affiliate, and others. Please include specific examples of the nominee's contributions to the affiliate.

Supporting Documentation

  • Letter from a colleague, either at the affiliate level or educational institutional level, describing the quality and significance of the nominee's contributions to the affiliate
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae
Download the evaluation rubric. 

Application Deadline

Accepting applications starting 1 July. All applications are due ​October 1.

2018 Recipient: Grazzia María Mendoza 

Grazzia María MendozaGrazzia María Mendoza has master’s degrees in International Education and TESOL. US State Department Alumna, recognized for project development for teachers’ professional growth. Has worked in the TESOL field for 25 years. Her research interests include Competency Based Language Teaching and Methodological Improvements for Professional Development. International presenter at TESOL International Association and several affiliates since 2007. Ms. Mendoza is an active volunteer at TESOL International: Chair of the International Participation Award 2012-2015 and current EFLIS Chair. Additionally, President for HELTA Honduras TESOL and for the Regional TESOL Group for Central America and the Caribbean Basin.   


Past Award Recipients

View a list of all past recipients.


Please contact  TESOL Awards.

Apply Now